Return to Headlines

Evanstonian Student Newspaper Receives Multiple Awards

May 21, 2021  6:00pm CT


IJEA Best Illustration
“The fight for the seat: RBG’s passing and legacy” (Sabrina Barnes)


Evanston Township High School’s student-produced newspaper The Evanstonian won 32 awards, including best overall publication for schools with over 2,600 students, in the annual contest held by the Illinois Journalism Education Association (IJEA).

The Evanstonian and ETHS students earned first place, second place, third place, and honorable mention awards. Results are as follows:


1st Place Awards (13):


Best overall publication, The Evanstonian

Best hybrid publication, The Evanstonian

Best news story, Zachary Bahar, ETHS announces in-person experiences

Best in-depth story, Zachary Bahar, Lauren Dain, Jessica Sehgal, Bridget Baker, Kayla Drajpuch, Meg Houseworth, Stella Israelite & Zoe Kaufman, Tradeoffs and Triages: Students navigate mental health in e-learning

Best personality profile, Foster Ellen, From one circus family to another

Best sports news story, Eli Cohen, Boys’ basketball takes first loss following poor shooting night

Best staff editorial, The Evanstonian editorial board, ETHS is neglecting student experience

Best serious commentary, Nora Miller, Drawing the home that could be

Best review, Quinn Hughes, Vetements and capitalistic abstraction

Best editorial cartoon, Sabrina Barnes, Lame-duck Trump

Best illustration, Sabrina Barnes, The fight for the seat: RBG’s passing and legacy

Best centerspread story package, Zachary Bahar and Ellie Lind, “My crown, my sword:” Life as a hijabi at ETHS

Best overall design, Nora Miller, Feb. 22, 2021 issue


2nd Place Awards (8):


Best sports news story, Eli Cohen, Girls’ basketball struggles offensively against top-ranked Simeon in loss

Best sports feature story, Peter Barbato, Minor leaguer, ETHS alum, on baseball during pandemic

Best headline, Jojo Wertheimer, Political figures finesse with fashion

Best alternative storytelling, Zachary Bahar and Sari Oppenheimer, ETHS Mock Election results

Best use of social media, Eli Cohen, Evanstonian Twitter

Best audio journalism, Nora Miller and Zachary Bahar, Kit Chat: Episode 8: Evanston’s next four years (and beyond)

Best website, Eden Drajpuch, The Evanstonian

Best COVID-19 coverage, Bridget Baker, Jessica Sehgal, Lauren Dain, Meg Houseworth, Sofia Williams, Stella Israelite & Zachary Bahar, The issue of e-learning


3rd Place Awards (4):


Best feature story, Nora Miller, Genuine deliverance: Melting down the gender binary at ETHS

Best humorous commentary, Zachary Bahar, All the faces that I know: The Office, the Evanstonian

Best infographic, Zachary Bahar, Summer of activism timeline

Best single-page story package, Ali Cutter, Lila Portis & Nora Miller, Students, staff honor Ruth Bader Ginsburg


Honorable Mention (7):


Best feature story, Gabi Karlan, Combating environmental racism in Evanston

Best sports commentary, Kamau Ransom, My journey as a Division I football prospect during COVID-19

Best humorous commentary, Anika Radhakrishnan, How breakout rooms are the blind dates of e-learning

Best infographic, Nora Miller, The Four Agreements & the Six Conditions

Best single-page story package, Ali Cutter, Lila Portis, Jojo Wertheimer & Nora Miller, Music that encapsulates this year

Best front-page design, Nora Miller, Dec. 14, 2020 issue

Best audio journalism, Nora Miller and Zachary Bahar, Kit Chat, Episode 3: Student political engagement and climate activism


The Illinois Journalism Education Association sponsors a number of awards and contests to recognize the efforts of high school journalism educators and their students, as well as school administrators and members of the public who support scholastic journalism. More information is available on the IJEA website.