Return to Headlines

ETHS Announces 2022 Teacher Excellence Award Winners

May 26, 2022  2:45pm CT


2022 ETHS TEA Winners
ETHS 2022 TEA Winners. Top row: Anita Bucio, Michelle Green, and Teresa Houston. Bottom row: Ganae McAlpin-Toney, Abdel Shakur, and Adriane Slaton.

Evanston Township High School (ETHS) honored six teachers at its annual Teacher Excellence Award (TEA) ceremony on May 18, 2022. This year’s honorees are Anita Bucio (English and AVID), Michelle Green (World Languages), Teresa Houston (Career & Technical Education), Ganae McAlpin-Toney (History & Social Sciences), Abdel Shakur (English), and Adriane Slaton (Science).


Award recipients were selected by the TEA Committee from a larger group of nominations written by either individual teachers or groups of teachers. This award program is an ETHS tradition, where teachers celebrate the work of other teachers in the high school. Teachers fund and run the program as a way to honor excellence in the classroom by those who work with ETHS students every day.