Return to Headlines

ETHS Students Take Home Multiple Medals at DECA State Conference

March 21, 2024  3:30pm CT


Evanston Township High School had 33 students compete in Illinois DECA’s 2024 Career Development Conference, which hosted more than 1,800 high school students. The ETHS team earned nine 1st place finishes, six 2nd place finishes, one 3rd place finish, and four top 10 finishes. In all, 21 ETHS students earned a bid to compete at the DECA International Career Development Conference in April.


Every year, DECA (Distributive Education Clubs of America) invites students to compete in business/entrepreneurship activities through business role-play situations, taking business-oriented exams, presenting written research projects and public relations campaigns, and delivering pitches for new business concepts.


Written Event Winners (qualified for the international competition):


Franchise Business Plan: 

1st Place - Campbell Fleming and Monroe Stroth

2nd Place - Maisy Peter


Business Operations Research Event: Sports and Entertainment Marketing 

2nd Place - Aidan Levine and Joshua Steinhoff


Business Operations Research Event: Hospitality and Tourism

1st Place - Layne Koury and Ariella Davidson


Business Operations Research Event: Business Services 

1st Place - Anthony LaRosa and Shain Carrasco

2nd Place - Eli Kaplan and Dante Goldberg 


Community Awareness Project:

1st Place - Max Low and Theo Wu


Community Giving Project:

1st Place - Kathleen Carrasco and Maya Thadhani


Independent Business Plan: 

1st Place -  Caleb Gerstein

2nd Place - Kate Myers and Celeste Riemersma


Start Up Business Plan:

2nd Place - James Green


International Business Plan:

1st Place - Ellie Newmark


Role Play Winners (qualified for the international competition):


Principles of Marketing:

1st Place - Jesse Dush-Hart  


Top 10 Finalists: 


Principles of Finance:

Alexandra Price


Hospitality Service Team Decision Making:

Kathleen Carrasco and Maya Thadhani


Marketing Management Team Decision Making:

Max Low and Theo Wu


Travel and Tourism Team Decision Making:

Campbell Fleming and Monroe Stroth 


Mini Award Winners:


Principles of Marketing:

1st Place Cluster Exam - Jesse Dush-Hart

2nd Place Role Play - Ruby Wiejak


Hospitality Services Management Team Decision Making:

3rd Place Role Play 1 - Kathleen Carrasco and Maya Thadhani